France by Région

There are currently 18 administrative regions of France, 13 in Europe and five overseas regions. In 2015 the number of regions was reduced by law from 22 to 13 and so regions were merged. is about geological things like caves and mines, and the geological units are often different from the geographical or political units. Nevertheless, the site is structured by political units, as this is easier to handle. We restructured the site by creating a first level with the new 13 regions, and a second level with subregions which are hopefully closer to the geological structures.