Musée des Mines de Fer d'Aumetz

Écomusée des mines de fer de Lorraine

Useful Information

Location: At Aumetz. Motorway A30 Metz-Longwy, exit Aumetz.
Open: MAY to SEP Tue-Sun 14-18, last entry 16:30.
Fee: Adults EUR 6, Children (6-18) EUR 3, Students EUR 3.
Groups (+): Adults EUR 5.40, Children (6-18) EUR 2.60.
Classification: MineIron Mine TopicÉcomusée
Light: LightIncandescent Electric Light System
Guided tours:
Address: Musée des Mines de Fer d'Aumetz, Aumetz, Tel: +33-382-857655, Fax: +33-38445-10.
As far as we know this information was accurate when it was published (see years in brackets), but may have changed since then.
Please check rates and details directly with the companies in question if you need more recent info.


1900 mine Bassompierre opened.
1983 mine Bassompierre closed.



The Musée des Mines de Fer d'Aumetz is located at the abandoned iron mine Bassompierre north of the village Aumetz. This is a rather modern mine, with a modern pit head. It is possible to climb the pit head and have a look from its platform 35 m above ground. This 360° view of the rather flat Pays Haut (High Country) landscape is unique. The underground of this mine is not accessible, the tour concentrates on the mining machinery on the surface. There are compressors, forges and extracting machines for the use underground. But there is also the surface machinery, the 40 ton Alsthom engine which powered the elevator.

The iron ore played an important role during both World Wars, so it is rather obvious that there are numerous military exhibits, so close to the Maginot Line that the fortifications are visible from the pit head. There is a production line for liquid oxygen cartridges and a machine to weave slow fuses. And there is a German V1 flying bomb from World War II.