Malo Saʻoloto Tutoʻatasi o Sāmoa - Independent State of Samoa

The Independent State of Samoa is the western part of the Polynesian islands named Samoa. That's why it was formerly known as Western Samoa. There is also an eastern part, which belongs to the U.S.A. Samoa has two main islands, Savai'i and Upolu, two smaller inhabited islands, Manono and Apolima, and several uninhabited islands. Samoa lies south of the equator in the Pacific Ocean, about halfway between Hawaii and New Zealand. The islands are of volcanic origin and were formed by the Samoa hotspot. Only Savai'i, the westernmost island, is volcanically active.

The Samoan islands are full of lava tubes. Some of them are rather long, and eight Samoan caves are on the list of longest lava tubes by Bob Gulden. Most caves are named Ana Pe'ape'a which translates swiftlet hole. This small bird loves caves and most of the caves bustle with swiftlets. Unfortunately this makes it rather difficult to know them apart. Its even worse than Bear Caves in Europe.