Colonial Adit Underground Mine Tour

Cobalt Northern Ontario Mining Museum

Useful Information

Location: 24 Silver St., Cobalt.
Light: LightIncandescent Electric Light System
Guided tours:  
Address: Colonial Adit Underground Mine Tour, Cobalt's Northern Ontario Mining Museum, 24 Silver St., Cobalt ON, Tel: +1-705-679-8301.
Welcome Centre, 1 Station Street, Cobalt, Ontario P0J 1C0, Tel: +1-705-679-5191. E-mail: contact
As far as we know this information was accurate when it was published (see years in brackets), but may have changed since then.
Please check rates and details directly with the companies in question if you need more recent info.


1903 begin of the Great Silver Rush.
1920s end of silver rush.



Cobalt is an old mining town, and many tourist attractions allow a view on this long gone industry. There is a the Welcome Centre located in the Historic Train Station. Here the tours of the Historic Cobalt Mining Camp area start. It is also the location of the Cradle of Canadian Mining exhibit, providing an overview of Cobalt's unique development and history. There is a short film giving an overview on Cobalts history and an original 1919 black and white movie showing the Cobalt Mining Camp in operation. The new Cobalt's Great Canadian Mine Show is an interactive show highlighting mining technology and exploration.

The Cobalt Mining Museum, also called Northern Ontario Mining Museum, holds a unique collection of historic mine materials and artifacts. Rare photographs and early newspapers, like the Cobalt Nugget and the Northern Miner, document the history of Cobalt. Rare mining books, ledgers and government manuals have been preserved and are available to researchers and historians.

The Heritage Silver Trail is a self-guided drive along the back roads of Cobalt and through some of the more historical mining sites. The six kilometre loop has five principal stops. The McKinley-Darragh Mill Site introduces the processing stage of a mining. The Little Silver Vein site offers a spectacular view of an open stope, the empty mined out vein. Here is the possibility to go underground into an adit. The Right-Of-Way Mine Site offers a display of old mining machinery.

Until today silver is mined in the area, at the moment about 1.6 million ounces per year. Stable and rising silver prices are the reason that new mines are presently being developed.