Capelton Mines

Mines Capelton - L’Épopée de Capelton

Useful Information

Location: Capelton, near North Hatley on route 108.
Open: APR to OCT daily 8:30-16.
First tour: 10.
Fee: Museum: free.
Mine Tour: Adults CAD 21, Children(16-17) 18, Children (6-15) CAD 14, Children (3-5) CAD 4, Children (0-2) free, Student (6-16) CAD 18, Family (2+2) CAD 56.
Groups (+): [2007]
Classification: MineCopper Mine
Light: LightIncandescent Electric Light System
Dimension: T=9 °C.
Guided tours: D=100 min.
Address: Capelton Mines, 800, route 108, North Hatley, Tel: +1-819-346-9545, Free: 1-888-346-9545, Fax: +1-819-346-9769. E-mail: contact
As far as we know this information was accurate when it was published (see years in brackets), but may have changed since then.
Please check rates and details directly with the companies in question if you need more recent info.


1865 first mine opened.
1939 last mine closed.
1995 opened to the public.
1998 awarded with the Grand prix du Tourisme québécois.



Visitors enter Capelton Mines with a miners train, like the miners once did. Inside the mine the tour shows the techniques and tools of the oldest copper mine in Québec. The geology of the mine, the processing of the copper ore, and the minerals and the speleothems in the mine are explained. Visitors are equipped with raincoat and a helmet, nevertheless we sugest a sweater, sturdy shoes and probably old clothes. If you forget to bring the right shoes, rubber boots are provided.

Capelton Mine is the oldest industrial mine in Canada. The copper mine was created with the work of minors, The mine is 1,200 m deep, but only a small part of the upper level is toured. Most of the lower levels is flooded, as the drainage pumps were turned off when the mine closed.

Adjacent to the reception building is a small mining museum. It shows the history of the Albert, Eustis, and Capelton Mines. There are interpretive trails on the 240 ha wooded site.

A rather new offer is the Tour du Prospecteur (prospector's tour). This tour revives the times of the early prospectors. The participants walk with their cart through the breathtaking landscape in search of valuable ores. Brooks are examined for gold and minerals, discoveries are made, claims are marked. This tour is both a historic experience and a possibility to collect minerals.