Oven's Caves

Useful Information

Location: Located between Bridgewater and Luneburg, near Riverport in Lunenburg County. Take exit 11 on Highway 103, drive south on Route 324 and 332 to the Park.
Open: Mid-JUN to SEP daily 9-21.
Boat tours of the caves are every hour, weather permitting.
Tours temporarily suspended due to new government regulations!
Fee: Park Admission: Adults CAD 8, Children (5-11) CAD 4, Children (0-4) free, Seniors (65+) CAD 4.
Groups (15+): Adults CAD 5.
Classification: Speleologysea cave
Light: n/a
Guided tours:
Address: The Ovens Natural Park, Box 38, Riverport, B0J 2W0, Tel: +1-902-766-4621, Fax: +1-902-766-4344. E-mail: contact
As far as we know this information was accurate when it was published (see years in brackets), but may have changed since then.
Please check rates and details directly with the companies in question if you need more recent info.


1860's caves visited by gold miners.
1987 Purchased by Angela Chapin.


Ovens Natural Park is privately owned and includes a series of very interesting sea caves reached by a series of steps and pathways. The walking tour takes about an hour and includes Cannon Cave, Indian Cave, Ovens Cave, Thunder Cave and Tuckers Tunnel. You can either walk down to the caves or take an organised tour of the caves using a Zodiac inflatable boat.

The „Ovens” are named after the sea caves. Tucker Tunnel began life as a natural sea cave but was extended by mining activities during the 1861 gold rush. Half way along the trail a balcony allows the visitor to view the fine veil of water that falls across the opening to Indian Cave, named after an ancient legend wherein a M'Kmaq native paddled his canoe into the cave emerging near Blomidon on the other side of the Province. Further along the track a concrete staircase descends the cliff face and leads to a balcony inside Cannon Cave, where visitors can hear, and sometimes feel, the resounding boom created as waves enter the large cavern.

Other facilities include: camping, picnic area, swimming pool etc. In the museum there is a display of artefacts from the gold rush area of 1861. Even today visitors can still collect samples of gold from the beaches in the park

Text by Tony Oldham (2002). With kind permission.