|Location:||At Arigna, northern Co Roscommon, at the borders to Sligo and Leitrim. From Sligo N4 towards Carrick-on-Shannon. After Boyle turn left at Ardcarne Garden Centre sign. Follow road through Keadue, at road fork take left route. After 4km at a pub called McRanns turn left. Then follow signs.|
|Open:||All year daily 10-18. |
Full tour incl. mine tour: Adults EUR 8, Children (3-18) EUR 5, Seniors EUR 6, Students EUR 6.
Groups (20+): Adults EUR 6, Children (3-18) EUR 4, Seniors EUR 5.
Exhibition area: Adults EUR 4, Children (3-18) EUR 2, Seniors EUR 3, Students EUR 3. 
|Address:||Arigna Mining Experience Co. Ltd., Enterprise Centre, Arigna, Co. Roscommon, Tel: +353-71-9646466, Fax: +353-71-9646466. E-mail:|
|As far as we know this information was accurate when it was published (see years in brackets), but may have changed since then.|
Please check rates and details directly with the companies in question if you need more recent info.
|Last update:||$Date: 2015/08/30 21:55:48 $|
|Middle Ages||start of iron mining.|
|16th century||smelting of iron started.|
|16??||iron works built by Charles Coote at Crevelea and Arigna.|
|1641||iron works destroyed during the 1641 rebellion and subsequently rebuilt.|
|1690||timber ran out and iron works were closed.|
|1765||start of coal mining.|
|1788||O'Reilly brothers rebuilt a new iron works.|
|1838||iron works closed.|
|1958||Arigna Power Station built.|
|1990||coal mine closed.|
|FEB-1999||chimney of the ESB Generating Station demolished.|
|23-APR-2003||Arigna Mining Experience opened, Ireland's first coal mining museum.|
Arigna Coal Mine is (in-)famous for having the narrowest coal seams in the western world. Seams of 45cm were mined, by miners lying on their side to shovel the coal out. Obviously not the best position for competition in a shrinking world. However, the coal mining lasted until 1990, the coal was used for iron works and later for a power plant. With the demolition of the ESB Generating Station chimney, the era of the coal ended.
The mining history at Arigna started in the Middle Ages with the mining of iron. East of Lough Allen lies a mountain called Slieve Anierin, which translates to Iron Mountain. At the beginning of the 17th century, the iron was smelted at Arigna in new built iron works, using charcoal, which was burnt from the wood of the forests around. But as no organised tree planting took place and the timber eventually ran out, the iron works had to be closed at the end of the 17th century. More than half a century later, in 1765, the mining of the coal deposits started, and again 30 years later the smelting was revived using the local coal instead of charcoal. This iron works closed finally in 1838, as they were not very successfull.
But coal mining continued and provided work for the people in the area. The coal was used to heat homes and hospitals, and to power steam engines. In 1958 the Arigna Power Station was opened to produce electricity. It was the first major power generating station in Connacht. The station was built specifically to burn the semi bituminous coal with its high ash content. At its height, the power station burned 55,000 tons of coal per year and employed 60 people. Like in other coal mining areas of Europe, the main goal of this power station was to secure the jobs in the local mining industry. During the internationalization process during the mid 20th century, foreign coal from much bigger and easier to mine deposits became much cheaper than loacl coal. At the end of the 1980s the power station was shut down, and without its main buyer the mine closed in 1990.
Because of the thin coal seams, a special type of mining was practised at Arigna. A main tunnel was driven from which branched a series of secondary tunnels every 5-6 meters, were the coal was mined. The secondary tunnels followed the seams and were rather low. The miners typically worked lying on their back to cut the coal. This Cutters or Brushers also prepared the mine for the next days work, extended the roads and used explosives. Drawers filled hutches and pushed them out to the main underground mine road. Here the hutches were linked up to the haulage system, an endless rope, and pulled to the outside. Sometimes small diesel locomotives were used to pull hutches out of the pit. Proppers used timber pillars to prop up the mine roof.
The Arigna Mining Experience consists of an exhibition and an optional underground tour. The underground tour is guided by former miners, who are able to answer any kind of questions on the coal mining process. This tour is a little difficult, as the mine is often very low. Visitord get hard hats to protect their heads. Lighting and sound effects throughout the mine are intended to add to the reality of the experience.
|Main Index | Ireland|