Tatra Mountains

The Tatra Mountains are divided into three parts, the Western Tatras, the High Tatras and the Bielskie Tatras. The Bielskie Tatras and a part of the Western Tatras consist of limestone, the High Tatras consist of crystalline rocks. The border between Poland and the RegionSlovak Republic runs right through the Tatras. On the Polish side the landscape is protected in the Tatrzanski Park Narodowy, on the Slovak side is Tarzanski Narodni Park.

There are 843 caves known in the Polish Tatra Mountains [2018], six are open for tourists. Rather famous among them are the Mrozna and Mylna Caves in Koscieliska Valley. The largest caves of the Tatras are not open to the public. Wielka Jaskinia Sniezna (Great Snow Cave) is the longest and deepest cave of Poland. It is 22,000 m long and 824 m deep.

The Tatra is one of the two major karst areas in Poland, and has six caves open to the public, but only one show cave. On the Slovakian side there is only one cave open to the public, the show cave ShowcaveBelianska Jaskyna (Belianska Cave) and visits from the Polish side are quite popular.