Split-Dalmatia County

Splitsko-dalmatinska županija

Splitsko-dalmatinska županija (Split-Dalmatia County) is a central-southern Dalmatian county in Croatia, the city Split is the administrative center. The Split-Dalmatia County is the largest county in the Republic of Croatia. It covers 14,045 km², 4,572 km² of land (including the islands) and 9,473 km² of sea, which is about 8% of the area of Croatia. Despite the Dalmatia in the name, this is only a part of the region Dalmatia, which consists of four counties.

The main natural features of the county are the sea and the karst. The karstified limestone mountains run parallel to the coast and are cut by rare saddles. The longest and economically most important river is the Cetina river, which flows through a deep canyon in the central part of the county. The most important karst sights are the Imotski Lakes, Red Lake and Blue Lake and the Vranjača cave.

The county is divided into three main parts: an elevated hinterland (Dalmatinska zagora) with numerous karst areas separated by river valleys, a narrow coastal strip with high population density and no karst, and the islands. The Dinaric Alps form the border with Bosnia and Herzegovina. The Kozjak, Mosor and Biokovo mountains separate the coastal strip from the hinterland.