Thüringen is divided into four regions with extremely different geology:

  1. In the north of the state is the RegionThüringer Becken (Thüringen Plains).
  2. More south, in the center of Thüringen are the mountains of the RegionThüringer Wald (Thüringen Forest).
  3. In the south east is the RegionThüringer Schiefergebirge (Thüringen Slate Mountains).
  4. In the south west along the border to Bavaria is RegionSüdthüringen (South Thüringen).