Belgium - About the Country

Belgium is a small European country, located at the North Sea. It has borders to France, Luxemburg, Germany and the Netherlands. Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxemburg are also called Benelux countries. As all three countries are very small and have to compete against big neighbours, they united rather soon after World War II. The borders between this three countries were open long before the Schengen treaty.

Belgium is despite is small size divided into two completely different parts, even with different language:

Belgium has numerous fine show caves, some of extraordinary size. But all caves are found in the southern, mountaneous part.

Belgium has several show mines, also with a tendency to the south, but less extreme. Even the cellars are mostly in the south, although there are some cellars in the Belgium part of Limburg.