Romania - About the Country

Romania is a country in Southeastern Europe, with borders towards Hungary and Serbia to the west, Ukraine and Moldova to the northeast, and Bulgaria to the south. Romania has a rather short part of Black Sea coast, where the second-longest and most important river of Europe, the Danube meets the sea. This river flows through various important cities, several capitals, crosses 10 countries and forms the border of many of them. It also forms the border between Romania, Serbia and Bulgaria.

Romania has 13 national parks, 371 geologic monuments, 46 scientific reserves, and 18 protected landscapes. All together there are 586 protected areas.

The written Romanian language uses a Roman alphabet with some special characters. Our main goal with names is, to display them in the most original form that is possible. So names and link descriptions may contain such special characters.

Unfortunately some browsers are not able to display special characters. Some browsers understand the special characters of the respective operating system, which unfortunately will produce strange results on all other operating systems. uses the standardized  W3C definitions. This may result in fancy placeholders like black rectangles or character entities. We are sorry for that, but after all its the best we can do.

If you have such problems, think about upgrading your browser. Many new browsers are free, like  Mozilla and  Opera.

Additional Information about Romania

Main Index | Romania
Last updated Terms of Use, © Jochen Duckeck.