Northern Province

The Northern Province is divided into two distinct geographic areas, Jaffna peninsula and the Vanni. Jaffna peninsula is irrigated by underground aquifers which feeds wells. Vanni has irrigation tanks fed by perennial rivers. The Province is covered by tropical forests, with numerous rivers flowing through.

See also

Main Index | Sri Lanka
Last updated Terms of Use, © Jochen Duckeck.