Caribbean Islands

Saint Kitts and Nevis

The Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis are two islands of the Leeward Islands, part of the West Indies. Amongst the first islands in the Caribbean settled by Europeans, the islands had both the first British and French colony. Later the islands were British together with nearby Anguilla, and became an associated state with full internal autonomy in 1967. In 1971 Anguilla separated and finally in 1983 St. Kitts and Nevis achieved independence. Today Basseterre on Saint Kits is the Capital, the islands have their own currency (East Caribbean dollar XCD) and their internet TLD (kn). But they still speak English, and they are an independent Commonwealth Realm with Queen Elizabeth II as head of state.

The islands are of volcanic origin, with large central peaks covered in tropical rainforest. The highest peak is Mount Liamuiga (1,156 m asl).

There are no underground sites on the two islands. There is some potential for lava tubes, but we were not able to find any documentation. The only caves which are open for tourists are some small reef caves which are accessible for divers only.