|Location:||I-25 to Exit 141, Hwy 24 west for 10km. Adjacent to Manitou Springs, CO.|
NOV to MAR daily 10-17 (last tour at 16:30).
APR to OCT daily 9-21 (last tour at 20).
Discovery Tour: Adults USD 18, Children (6-11) USD 9, Children (9-5) free.
Lantern Tour: Adults USD 22, Children (6-11) USD 12, Children (9-5) not allowed.
Discovery Tour: D=45min.
Lantern Tour: lanterns and costumed guides, like in the l800s, D=90min.
Explorer's trip: D=240min.
|Address:||Cave of the Winds, PO Box 826, Manitou Springs, CO 80829, Tel. +1-719-685-5444. E-mail:|
|As far as we know this information was accurate when it was published (see years in brackets), but may have changed since then.
Please check rates and details directly with the companies in question if you need more recent info.
|1600's||known to the Ute Indians who lived in the mountain to the west.|
|MAR-1875||Messr. Case and Willcutt, discover the narrow opening to a cave while blasting limestone. They called it Mammoth Cave and opened it to the public.|
|02-OCT-1875||an engraving of the entrance to the cave appears in Harper's Weekly magazine.|
|1876||sold to Tom Green, who continued to offer access to the cave.|
|Mammoth Cave renamed Hucacode Cave, after two couples Hugh, Carl, Cora and Delia. Also called Huccacove Cave.|
|26-JUN-1880||Reverend Roselle T. Cross with several boys from a Boys Exploring Association visits the canyon. Two boys, George and John Pickett discover several chambers in the Cave of the Winds archway.|
|JUL-1880||Cave of the Winds first opened to the public by Charles Cross and the Boynton brothers.|
|DEC-1880||George W. Snider discovers a small blowhole with a plume of steam seven meters high during a hunt.|
|JAN-1881||George Snider and Charles Rinehart discover an upper level in the Cave of the Winds, form a partnership to purchase the cave.|
|26-FEB-1881||the Cave of the Winds is re-opened on a limited basis to the public.|
|09-JUN-1881||George Snider returns and excavates the blowhole, finding the Manitou Grand Caverns.|
|JAN-1885||George Snider begins commercialization efforts at the Manitou Grand Cavern.|
|07-MAR-1885||Manitou Grand Cavern opened to the public.|
|20-APR-1895||new tunnel entrance to the Cave of the Winds.|
|11-OCT-1904||the Grand Caverns are temporarily lighted with electric lights.|
|FEB-1906||five new rooms opened in the Cave of the Winds.|
|04-JUL-1907||electric light in the Cave of the Winds.|
|MAR-1910||R. D. Weir and J. F. Sandford excavated Centipede Cave in lower Williams Canyon for Lisle Harris.|
|10-JUL-1911||Centipede Cave opened to the public as Manitou Cave, electrically lit.|
|25-OCT-1913||Charles Austin of the Cave of the Winds purchased Manitou Cave, and closed the cave to the public.|
|APR-1960||additional parts of the cave opened to the public.|
|1974||present day fluorescent lighting installed.|
|01-MAY-1988||Adventure Room opens to the public.|
|1989||the Old Curiosity Shop opens to the public.|
The Cave of the Winds formed inside the William's Canyon Limestone. This is Ordovician limestone which was formed about 450 Mio years ago. There are many caves in this area and a long history of cave exploration and exploitation. The Mammoth Cave, later renamed Hucacode Cave, was open to the public earlier. Since then the Manitou Grand Cavern was used as a show cave with electric light, and Centipede Cave was also opened to the public as Manitou Cave. Today only Cave of the Winds is still toured.
The cave was named for the moaning sound, the air produces in the natural entrance. This entrance is high on the cliff face of William's Canyon. The Visitors Center at the cave entrance provides a breath taking view.