Oceania is a sort of non existant continent, as this describes all the islands located in the southwestern part of the Pacific ocean. It was originally inhabited by polynesian people, but is now also the home of all other ethnic groups, but mostly of the descendants of British immigrants. The biggest countries beloning to Oceania are Australia and New Zealand. Oceania has three main groups of small islands:

The Pacific Plate is a oceanic plate, which means it is composed of heavier volcanic material and thus it swims depper than the continental plates. It is completely covered by 3,500m deep sea water. So most of Oceania is deep ocean with some islands of volcanic origin, generally hot spot volcanism. Soem islands consist of an considerable amount oif limestone which formed as reef on the volcanic islands.

 Fiji:  Nahehe Cave |  Naisese Caves |  Sawa-i-Lau Caves |  Wailotu Caves
 Guam:  Talofofo Cave |  Yokoi's Cave
 Northern Mariana Islands:  The Grotto |  Kalabera Cave
 New Caledonia:  Grotte de Lindéralique |  Grotte de la Reine Hortense
 Niue:  Anapala Chasm |  Anatola Cave |  Avaiki |  Palaha Cave |  Talava Arches |  Togo Chasm |  Ulupaka |  Vaikona Chasm
 Papua New Guinea:  Afawa Cave |  Atea Kananda |  Balek Sulfur Caves |  Omuru Flying Fox Cave
 Milne Bay:  Damawewe |  Diu Diu Cave |  Giligili Cave |  Skull Cave
 Tonga:  Hufangalupe |  'Ana Hulu |  'Ana Kuma |  Li'angahuo 'a Maui
 Vanuatu:  Fels Cave |  Island of Espiritu Santo |  Steam and Bat Caves |  Yeyenwu Cave

Additional Information about Oceania

Main Index | Misc Countries
Last updated Terms of Use, © Jochen Duckeck.