Walsingham Nature Reserve

Tom Moore's Jungle


Useful Information

Location: Hamilton Parish.
Open: No restrictions.
[2010]
Fee: free.
[2010]
Classification:  Karst cave
Light: bring torch
Dimension: L=200m.
Guided tours:  
Photography:  
Accessibility:  
Bibliography:  
Address: Tom Moore's Tavern, Walsingham Lane, Hamilton Parish, Bermuda, Tel: 441-293-8020, Fax: 441-293-4222. E-mail: contact
As far as we know this information was accurate when it was published (see years in brackets), but may have changed since then.
Please check rates and details directly with the companies in question if you need more recent info.
Last update:$Date: 2015/08/30 21:52:27 $

History


Description

This Reserve contains the following caves: Causeway, Castle Grotto, Blue Grotto, Walsingham, Subway, Deep Blue, Vine and Fern Sink to name a few. Most of the caves are linked underwater to form the Walsinham Cave System.

Walsingham Cave is 200 meters long and was once opened to the public. The remains of a concrete path and stairs can still be seen. These end at the edge of a deep lake beneath the surface of which can be seen numerous speleothems.

Tom Moore's Jungle is private trust property available for viewing without charge to visitors and residents by the trustees, who also operate the well known Tom Moore's Tavern. It is a charming, romantic, woodland area with beautiful views, worth a visit as one of the very few totally "unspoiled" places left in Bermuda. It demonstrates vividly how Bermuda once looked all over the main island before homes, hotels and other properties dotted and changed the landscape forever.

Tom Moore's Tavern was originally known as Walsingham House. It was once the property of Robert Walsingham, the coxswain of the doomed "Sea Venture" in 1609. Then it was the 17th century estate of Samuel Trott and his family. It was so impressive in British Bermudian colonial architecture that a replica of it was built at Wembley, London, for the Empire Exhibition of 1924. The house was a tavern for 75 years before it was restored and reopened as a restaurant with the "tavern" retained.

The restaurant is named after the famous Irish born English poet Tom Moore, who before he became famous for his literary works and songs, spent several months in Bermuda in 1803 as an Admiralty Clerk of the maritime court and befriended a local plantation owner and got close to a young local married lady. Here, Moore courted, romanticised, wrote heady words to turn his lass compliant - and established his local reputation as a ladies' man. The calabash tree immortalised in his "Epistle V" still stands as a stump.


Text by Tony Oldham (2003). With kind permission.


See also


Main Index | Caribbean Islands | Bermuda
Last updated Terms of Use, © Jochen Duckeck.