|Image: sinter resembling a cave.
|1722||St. Anna chapel in Lingenau built with tufa from here.|
|1950s||end of tufa quarrying.|
|1998||declared a Naturdenkmal (natural monument).|
|Image: organic forms of limestone covering grass.
The Subersach valley is a steep gorge, cut into the wide plain around
The road bridge is used for bungee jumping.
Only a few hundred meters away, near the public bath is the start of a unique
The Quelltuffpfad (Spring Tufa Trail) is a series of wooden paths,
bridges and stairs, which allow a stroll through a unique deposit of tufa or
|Image: the Baroque chapel St. Anna from 1722 was built from tufa from the Subersach.
The water from the plains around Lingenau flows underground to the gorge.
The rock it flows through is conglomerate, which consits of mostly crystalline
gravel with a limestone rich cement.
It was created during the late Ice Age,
This limestone is soluted by the water and reaches the various springs right
below the rim of the Subersach valley.
When flowing downhill from the spring to the river, the water looses its carbon
dioxide, looses the ability to dissolve limestone, ande starts to deposit it
where it flows, on moss, algae, ferns and leaves.
The slope is 30m wide and 40m high, covered by several meters of tufa.
The overhanging cliffs are covered by stalactites and curtains.
The brooks are all flowing in yellow limestone beds.
There are even some stone channels and rimstone pools.
The tufa from the Subersach valley was used in former centuries for the
construction of buildings.
The Baroque chapel of St. Anna from 1722 and the curch in Lingenau were both
built using the tufa from here.
It is estimated that 250m³ of Tufa were removed for those two builings.
|Quelltuffpfad Lingenau Gallery